Cutting Out the Dryer

 
While in France we used our good friend’s washing machine the first week.  The washing machines in Europe are different than in the USA. They are smaller, and sometimes they are dryers too, like a two-in-one special. They do not have lint traps and the dryer takes much longer. So we used it and hung most of our clothes up around her apartment to dry. (Thankfully she has a lot of radiators) 

When we got back to US we decided to get a rack that we could use instead. We also have some drying space on some hooks that I have used for nice clothing items to hang, but it’s not enough to do everything.

  

I have been using the rack for almost everything. It holds a lot more than I expected. We got it from Ikea, and it was definitely worth it. The past few weeks I have not used my dryer at all. 

We used to have a clothing line outside but during a storm a few years ago it broke. That is something I want to put back up, but in the meantime I will air dry on this rack. 

Dryers are quick and nice sometimes, but your clothes will not appreciate it in the long run. Air drying keeps the quality of your clothes like new. 

Leave a comment